A long time ago in a galaxy far, far away, I used to do a lot of pen & ink illustrations, mostly of comic book characters. Rendering in this fashion really taught me the importance of patience, something I’ve noticed I have been lacking a lot lately. I stumbled upon a scanned image I did of Spider-Man swinging over the city. I think this was drawn back in 1993 or 1994. I remember looking at the image one day and wondered what it would look like in colour. My sense of colour is atrocious and I’ve never really been comfortable applying it to my illustrations. However, one day I did just that in 2006. I took that scanned image and started applying basic colouring layers in Adobe Photoshop to see what I could produce. By no means am I an expert but I was pleased with the finished results. See what you think.


